Nederlands - Français - English


November 2 – 24, 2019

Zebrastraat 32/001
9000 Ghent

In reply to the call for entries for the international contest New Technological Art Award (NTAA) 2019, 705 candidates representing 78 nationalities worldwide have applied.

Out of these projects, an international jury has selected 20 nominees:
Ran Ancor (IT) – Ku, the Void
Sofian Audry and Monty Cantsin (CA) – The Sense of Neoism?! An Infinite Manifesto
Ralf Baecker (DE) – Putting the Pieces Back Together Again
Thijs Biersteker (NL) – Voice of Nature
Kenny Wong Chi-Chuen (HK) – dist.duo
Heather Dewey-Hagborg (US) – Probably Chelsea
Emanuel Gollob (AT) – Doing Nothing with AI
Daniel Jolliffe (CA) – Perfect View
So Kanno and Yang02 (JP) – Asemic Languages
Shinseungback Kimyonghun (KR) – Nonfacial portrait
Greg Marshall (CA) – Bearing
Miranda Moss (ZA) – The Timid Wilderness
onformative (DE) – Meandering River
Matthew Ostrowski (US) – Summerland
Marlene Reischl (AT) – Field
Saša Spačal & Mirjan Švagelj (SI) – Meta_bolus
Studio Jol Thomson (CA) – Deep Time Machine Learning
Noriyuki Suzuki (JP) – Oh my ( )
Tehran Platform (IR) – Wellograph
Fabien Zocco (FR) – Game over and over
(4 CA // 2 JP, US, AT, DE // 1 IT, NL, HK, KR, ZA, SI, IR, FR)

The jury members who casted their vote were the Liedts-Meesen Foundation, Jean-Marie Dallet (artist and professor at the Université Paris 8), Stef Van Bellingen (artistic leader of the art space WARP, Sint-Niklaas), Nick Ervinck (artist, winner of the NTAA 2008 public award), Yves Bernard (artistic director of iMAL in Brussels), Alain Thibault (artistic director of Elektra, Montreal), Ralph Dum (scientific officer and senior expert of the European Commission) and Karen Helmerson (program director for Electronic Media, Film & Visual Art at the New York State Council on the Arts (NYSCA)). The nominees will compete for the jury award (€ 5000), public award (exhibition in a European museum) and prize in collaboration with the European Commission (residency in industrial company or research centre), which will be awarded on the last day of the exhibition (to be held from November 2 until 24, 2019 at Zebrastraat Ghent, Belgium).

Zebrastraat: knowledge centre
During the last few years, Zebrastraat Ghent has developed into a stimulating knowledge centre with a strong interest in art. Every two years we organize a biennial called update_, linked with the New Technological Art Award (NTAA) contest, which tries to fill in a gap in the mainstream art world, by paying attention to the technological developments that drive our global culture. NTAA selects and presents creations in which the culture-forming role of technology occupies a central place. Low or high tech, intuitive or experimental, the creations always draw our attention to actual innovative trends. The exhibition of achievements of the selected winners is a compass that orients you to the relevant temporal and resilient use of technology in the artistic sector.

Participants and winners of the previous edition were: 1024 architecture – François Wunschel, Jason Cook, Pier Schneider (FR) (winner public award), Assocreation (AT/TH), Alessio Chierico (IT), CREW_Eric Joris (BE), Michiel De Cleene (BE), Dries Depoorter (BE), Verena Friedrich (DE), Julien Grossmann (FR), Elias Heuninck (BE), Michael Kugler (US) & Sebastian Wolf (DE) (winner jury award), Marc Lee (CH), Michael Mandiberg (US), Quadrature—Jan Bernstein, Juliane Götz, Sebastian Neitsch (DE), Theresa Schubert (DE) (winner prize in collaboration with the European Commission), Karina Smigla-Bobinski (DE), Maja Smrekar (SI), Stanza (UK), Bill Vorn & Louis-Philippe Demers (CA), Lien-Cheng Wang (TW).

There will be a catalogue of the NTAA’19 exhibition, published by Lannoo.


Powered by @Assist